RATCLIFF INJURED; UNBEATEN NEWCOMER DAN DOWNES STEPS IN TO FACE HORODECKI THIS SUNDAY

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

WEC officials announced today that lightweight Ed Ratcliff has been forced to withdrawal from his fight with Canadian Chris Horodecki due to injury. Stepping in to replace Ratcliff this Sunday is unbeaten 24-year-old Danny Downes of Milwaukee, Wis.

The Duke Roufus-trained product is 6-0, with five wins coming by way of knockout. Known for his electric striking, Downes is also a cerebral fighter who owns degrees in International Affairs and German from Marquette University.

Downes vs. Horodecki will be featured on the televised portion of the WEC fight card emanating from Rexall Place in Edmonton, AB, Canada. VERSUS will televise the event live in the U.S. at 9pm ET/6pm PT. Canadian viewers can catch the card live on The Score at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Sábado, Outubro 25
23h
BRT
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Midia

Recente
No segundo episódio do UFC Embedded, os lutadores começam a chegar no Rio para o UFC179. Entre um treino e outro, Chad Mendes e José Aldo continuam se provocando. 'Ele precisa estar motivado, porque vou dar uma surra nele!', disse o americano.
23/10/2014
Treinos abertos do UFC 179, no dia 23 de outubro, 2014 no Rio de Janeiro, Brasil. (Fotos de Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)
23/10/2014
José Aldo e Glover Teixeira conversaram com a equipe do UFC sobre as expectativas para o UFC179, neste sábado (25), e também sobre o lançamento do filme sobre a vida de Aldo e o documentário 'Nascidos para Lutar', que narra a trajetória de Glover.
24/10/2014
Lutadores recebem a equipe do UFC em seus quartos e mostram o que não deixam de levar na mala para a semana da luta. Confira!
23/10/2014